Conscientious Objector – Peace on May First, 2024

Hello Peace Bit folk… I don’t know exactly how to navigate wordpress for putting forth the following message. If you’d rather get today’s Peace Bit by email, just let me know and I will be most happy to send it to you directly! KathleenTempleTailor@gmail.com

The war lobbyists invite our legislators to cocktail parties🍸. But we peace “lobbyists” -advocates, really- we can do better than THAT, can’t we? 🌟

Let’s invite our legislators all around the world (and their staff) to meet, virtually, Israeli Conscientious Objector Yuval Dag. How often to any of us get a chance to meet an Israeli C.O.?

All of us Peace Bit folk are also invited, for that matter!

I am pasting here the invitation I received via email from the Fellowship of Reconciliation, one of the oldest of our peace organizations.

FOR-USA Chapters, IFOR Branches, and Religious Peace Fellowships
If you have any trouble accessing this, email me: KathleenTempleTailor@gmail.com
db08e619-d165-45f0-a2f0-88c49354caaa.pngMay Gathering Voices: Emergency Forum with Israeli Conscientious Objector Yuval Dag
Date: May 23 2024 Time: 1:00pm Eastern Time (11am PT)Location: Zoom 
Join us for an important conversation with Yuval Dag, a courageous Israeli activist who refused military conscription and faced imprisonment for his beliefs. Raised with a nationalist identity, Yuval’s journey led him to question his privilege and the oppression of Palestinians. He’ll share his insights on resistance, self-reflection, and the moral implications of military service. Hosted by Ariel Gold of Fellowship of Reconciliation and Diana Oestrich of Red Letter Christians, this event promises to be a thought-provoking dialogue on conscientious objection and solidarity. Don’t miss this opportunity to hear from Yuval and engage in meaningful discussion.
If you have any trouble accessing this, email me: KathleenTempleTailor@gmail.com
Click here to Register 
If you have any trouble accessing this, email me: KathleenTempleTailor@gmail.com
S.gif

To share the invitation with your legislators could be a mite tricky because it is at times difficult to get images and links to work within the webforms most legislators provide for communications from us constituents. For my own part, I plan to put as much of the info into the email (online) webforms as possible THEN PHONE each legislator’s office to talk about Yuval Dag and the event with the phone-answerers. That process should get the info through!

I hope you’ll join me in inviting YOUR legislators and their staff to attend the Fellowship of Reconciliation zoom event!

The time slot will be difficult for some who live far from the longitude where the event will be held. Go ahead and register even if the timing is less than convenient for you; you’ll be able to experience the recording that way.

“See” you on May 23?

❤️  – Kathleen


Thank you for inviting your friends to receive Peace Bit prompts! Invite more, will you? Just share the following image:
PNG image.jpeg


Leave a comment

About Me

I am a peace advocate based in Rockingham County, Virginia in the United States. I “lobby” my US legislators in the cause of peace on a daily basis. I consider this advocacy to be a variation on lobbying because I am going head to head against the war lobbyists of this world. I detest war and all of its various so-called justifications. Writing a daily “Peace Bit” prompt to convey my appeals, I use my Peace Bit when I call or email or visit my own elected officials. I then share it with others who also want to appeal to their legislators in the cause of peace.

To appeal to your own legislators, just search the web for all of the contact info you will need. When calling or visiting your legislators’ offices, LAVISH the staff persons with courtesy. Their jobs are not easy! In many cases, staffers are our allies and they can have tremendous influence on their bosses!

If you subscribe to my blog you will always have new Peace Bits on hand; they are different every day. You can use them for personal reflection, for appealing to your own legislators anywhere in the world, or for planning your next Letter to the Editor. I’d love to hear how your peace advocacy goes! I invite your suggestions as well.

Please invite others to sign up for Peace Bits, will you? Our international circle of Peace Bits users grows mainly by word of mouth.

Email me: KathleenTempleTailor@gmail.com

SUBSCRIBE Here, please!