Support students – Peace on April 30, 2024

Hello steadfast peace advocates,

I’m planning to email my legislators today. That’s primarily because this Peace Bit’s script is a bit long for a phone call. But I will phone their offices later on to ask the wonderful staff to “flag” my email for immediate attention. I know they’ll gladly do that. They loved talking with me yesterday about the students! They’re young and one of the ones I spoke with yesterday is still a student themself.

I invite you to use the script below in whatever way suits you.

THANK YOU for loving peace. Thank you for steadfastly insisting that our legislators resist corruption by the military-industrial complex. Thank you for being you. Thank you for supporting any students and others who are putting themselves on the line to protest genocide!

[Legislator],

I want to count you among the well meaning national-level legislators of the world who want to halt the merciless ongoing slaughter of babies, children, and others in Gaza (and everywhere).

Are you supporting the courageous college students and others who are protesting the genocide being carried out by the Israeli/US military? Perhaps you have even visited one of their encampments or paid for some food to be delivered to them? I hope you are actively supporting them!

If you are ever tempted to complain that they are out of line or to accuse them of “not doing it right”, please stifle yourself. I don’t want any representative of we-the-people to do that. I don’t want even to see a legislator so much as roll their eyes when they’re going through their newsfeed.

The students wouldn’t have to be bothering with this problem at all except that national-level legislatures are still shoveling mountains of money into the Israeli/US military.

p.s. CALL the president of your alma mater and tell that person to support student protests!

***

❤️  – Kathleen

If you have any personal connection with a college/university, PLEASE share this invite with folks there:

Screenshot


Leave a comment

About Me

I am a peace advocate based in Rockingham County, Virginia in the United States. I “lobby” my US legislators in the cause of peace on a daily basis. I consider this advocacy to be a variation on lobbying because I am going head to head against the war lobbyists of this world. I detest war and all of its various so-called justifications. Writing a daily “Peace Bit” prompt to convey my appeals, I use my Peace Bit when I call or email or visit my own elected officials. I then share it with others who also want to appeal to their legislators in the cause of peace.

To appeal to your own legislators, just search the web for all of the contact info you will need. When calling or visiting your legislators’ offices, LAVISH the staff persons with courtesy. Their jobs are not easy! In many cases, staffers are our allies and they can have tremendous influence on their bosses!

If you subscribe to my blog you will always have new Peace Bits on hand; they are different every day. You can use them for personal reflection, for appealing to your own legislators anywhere in the world, or for planning your next Letter to the Editor. I’d love to hear how your peace advocacy goes! I invite your suggestions as well.

Please invite others to sign up for Peace Bits, will you? Our international circle of Peace Bits users grows mainly by word of mouth.

Email me: KathleenTempleTailor@gmail.com

SUBSCRIBE Here, please!