Say something – Peace on May 9, 2024

Hello peace advocates,

Today’s Peace Bit invites us to help our elected officials say something about the “big picture” on Planet Earth. Yes, saying something could get them in trouble, so we can offer to help. People who hate war and love peace are the ones who can give them courage. 

We see that the military-industrial complex (along with adjacent forces) is roasting alive our Mother Earth… and all of us. It’s intolerable.

There’ve been reports that the Biden administration in the US is close to declaring, officially, a “Climate Emergency”. The US administration has been slow to do this because doing so would mean that US war industries— the worst polluters of all polluters— would have to be curbed.

This article introduces major recent reporting by The Guardian: https://www.commondreams.org/news/climate-scientists-2-5-world?utm_source=Common+Dreams&utm_campaign=73db0d213b-Top+News%3A+Wed.+5%2F8%2F24&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_-3b949b3e19-%5BLIST_EMAIL_ID%5D

I invite you to convey to your legislators (and to the Biden admin, even, if you like: https://www.whitehouse.gov/contact/) something akin to what I will be saying when I call my own legislators today:

[Legislator],

You have yet to speak out strongly enough against the war industries. They are the dirtiest of dirty industries. They murder children and others quite directly, of course, but they also roast Mother Earth in every stage of their processes. They tend to control all of global life, continually stoking militarism and wars as they bolster fossil fuel use.

Please speak out more strongly, more constantly, against the war industries. Please speak FOR peace and common security.

Yes, the war industries will punish you if you call them out. But we constituents will support you.

***

❤️  – Kathleen

It’s a great time to contact our legislators and other electeds in the cause of peace. The deadliness of the military-industrial complex to the babies in Rafah, to all of Nature, and to everyone in between is on full display.

Screenshot


Leave a comment

About Me

I am a peace advocate based in Rockingham County, Virginia in the United States. I “lobby” my US legislators in the cause of peace on a daily basis. I consider this advocacy to be a variation on lobbying because I am going head to head against the war lobbyists of this world. I detest war and all of its various so-called justifications. Writing a daily “Peace Bit” prompt to convey my appeals, I use my Peace Bit when I call or email or visit my own elected officials. I then share it with others who also want to appeal to their legislators in the cause of peace.

To appeal to your own legislators, just search the web for all of the contact info you will need. When calling or visiting your legislators’ offices, LAVISH the staff persons with courtesy. Their jobs are not easy! In many cases, staffers are our allies and they can have tremendous influence on their bosses!

If you subscribe to my blog you will always have new Peace Bits on hand; they are different every day. You can use them for personal reflection, for appealing to your own legislators anywhere in the world, or for planning your next Letter to the Editor. I’d love to hear how your peace advocacy goes! I invite your suggestions as well.

Please invite others to sign up for Peace Bits, will you? Our international circle of Peace Bits users grows mainly by word of mouth.

Email me: KathleenTempleTailor@gmail.com

SUBSCRIBE Here, please!